Chugach Alaska Corporation (Chugach) is proud to announce that Board Director Julie Kitka has been named the recipient of the Walter J. Hickel Award for Distinguished Public Policy Leadership.

The award recognizes outstanding Alaskans and policymakers during the annual Hickel and Egan Awards for Excellence in Public Policy Leadership. These honors go to individuals who have helped to shape and apply public policy in Alaska and the nation through their leadership and dedication to public service.

Kitka is the long-serving president of the Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) and has served on Chugach’s Board for more than two decades. In both roles, she has served as a tireless advocate and champion for Alaska Native peoples, tribal and village entities, and Alaska Native Corporations. For more than three decades, Julie has been at the forefront of seeking sovereignty, self-determination, and social justice for Alaska Natives. She has taken this work to international forums, the halls of governance in Washington DC and Juneau, and across Alaska.

“Julie’s work offers a voice to the collective Alaska Native community when it comes to regional, state and federal policies that impact Alaska Natives and Alaska Native Corporations,” says Chairman and Interim CEO Sheri Buretta. “She has been a driving force behind a number of important initiatives, including partnering with the FBI on crime prevention and missing persons in rural communities, and fighting to ensure our communities received much-needed COVID-19 relief funds. Julie established a forum for AFN members – called “Alaska Days” – to connect Alaska Natives to the military, federal lawmakers in Washington D.C. and progressive industries such as satellite companies and oil companies critical to the Alaska economy. As we celebrate the 50th anniversary of ANSCA, it’s important to recognize how Julie’s leadership has advanced Alaska Natives and helped them to succeed in the global economy, while also maintaining their ability to preserve their culture and traditions.”

The virtual award ceremony will be held Nov. 4 from 6-8 p.m. AKDT, and will feature special guests, a remembrance of leaders and public servants, and a celebration of our honorees including a look back at their contributions to Alaska. Tickets can be purchased online.

For media inquiries, contact Communications
Director Randi Jo Gause

Contact Randi