The ANCSA Regional Association (ARA) has formed Alaskans for TARA, an independent expenditure committee supporting Tara Katuk Sweeney’s candidacy in the special election for Alaska’s seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The formation of Alaskans for TARA underscores how strongly ARA believes that Sweeney is the most qualified candidate to grow Alaska’s economy. Alaskans for TARA will also accept support from others in the civic and business community who wish to support Sweeney.

“Tara’s track record of success, her unique understanding of rural and urban Alaska, and her experience in Juneau and Washington D.C. are critically important as she seeks to become Alaska’s sole member of the House of Representatives,” said ARA President Kim Reitmeier.

Sweeney has served Alaska internationally as chair of the multi-national Arctic Economic Council. She was also the first Alaska Native Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs in the Department of the Interior, co-chair of the Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN), and special assistant for Rural Affairs and Education during Gov. Murkowski’s administration. Sweeney, a Republican, was also co-chair of the late Congressman Don Young’s campaign.

“Tara’s depth and breadth of service at all levels, in both public and private sectors, simply cannot be matched by any other candidate running for this seat,” said ARA Vice-Chair and Bering Straits Native Corporation President and CEO Gail Schubert.

Sheri Buretta, Chugach Alaska Corporation chairman of the board, is president of Alaskans for TARA. Gail Schubert is vice-president, Ahtna, Inc. President Michelle Anderson is treasurer, and Sarah Lukin, chief strategy officer for Cook Inlet Region, Inc. (CIRI) is secretary.

Alaskans for TARA is assembling an experienced campaign team that spans the political spectrum, all uniting around a single goal—electing Tara Katuk Sweeney to Alaska’s at-large house seat.

The special election to fill the remainder of Congressman Young’s term begins with a by-mail open primary, with ballots due or postmarked by June 11. The top four vote getters will advance to a special ranked-choice general election on August 16.

Paid for by Alaskans for T.A.R.A. (True Alaska Representation Alliance) and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.
Alaskans for T.A.R.A. (True Alaska Representation Alliance), 11500 Sukdu Way, Suite 150 Anchorage, AK 99515

For media inquiries, contact Communications
Director Randi Jo Gause

Contact Randi